NITISH AGAIN … NDA legislators’ meet elects Nitish Kumar as CM; swearing in on Monday


PATNA: JDU leader Nitish Kumar was re-elected as Chief Minister nominee by the National Democratic Alliance(NDA) at its meeting here on Sunday. He would be sworn in as Chief Minister for a fresh term on Monday. 

Nitish, who ruled the state as CM for fifteen years through seven terms will lead a BJP-JDU team of ministers in the next government. 

The alliance won a total of 125 seats in the 243-member assembly, with the JDU winning 43 and the BJP raising its tally this time to a remarkable high of 74 seats. The BJP, having come this far, is likely to draw in a section of the MLAs from the Congress too, as it did in Madhya Pradesh, to solidify the alliance and put Nitish Kumar under a tight leash.

The RJD, the principal opposition with 73 seats in the new assembly, too might be exposed to poaching by the BJP as time progresses. The aim of the BJP central leadership seems to be to sooner or later acquire a majority of its own in the assembly and ease out Nitish Kumar, after drawing a section of his MLAs to the saffron side.

For Nitish Kumar, the present assembly poll exercise was in part a washout, as its assembly tally came down sharply from 71 to 43.

The 69-year-old Nitish Kumar has been chief minister since 2005, with a break too, till 2020 — and he would now rule for more time, if nor more years. The JDU had contested the 2015 assembly polls as part of the Mahatbandhan involving the RJD, but switched sides two years later to the NDA and resumed cohabitation with the BJP. 

In the new ministry, to be sworn in this week, the BJP will have a huge upper hand and will corner most of the important portfolios. 


Nitish Kumar belongs to the backward (BC) Kurmi agriculturist community that has a four per cent strength in the state’s population chart. His father was a traditional herbal medicine practitioner. Nitish was actively involved since his student days with the Socialist movement nurtured by Sarvodaya and Total Revolution leader Jaya Prakash Narain, Karpoori Thakur and others. 

Through JP movement, he ended up in the Janata Party, which was a mix of Jan Sanghiis, anti-Indira Congressmen and Socialists. Nitish Kumar was railway minister in the AB Vajpayee government. He resigned following the Gaisal train mishap which took many lives. He later returned to the government as Agriculture minster. 

In year 2000 he was named by NDA as chief minister of Bihar but resigned after while as he could not prove his government’s majority support in the assembly. Kumar has been CM since 2005.

While Kumar became CM in 2015 after the Mahagatbandhan of RJD and JDU won the polls, edging out the BJP and the Congress, Kumar resigned briefly after RJD leader Lalu Prasad’s son Tejashwi Yadav, a minister then, came under accusations of corruption. Kumar asked him to resign, but Tejashwi and the RJD refused. Kumar quit the alliance, resigned as CM and soon formed an alternative ministry with the support of the BJP. 

Also, in May 2014, after the Lok Sabha polls, Kumar had resigned as CM, taking moral responsibility for the poor showing of his party in the polls. He put his trusted aide Jitanram Manjhi, a dalit leader, as CM, for some time. Kumar returned as CM after the 2015 polls. IHN-NN


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s