UNSC: India elected as non-permanent member at UNSC

NEW YORK: India was elected unopposed to the United Nations Security Council (UNSC) as a non-permanent member from the Asia-Pacific category on Wednesday. This is for a two-year term, and India had held this post previously too. India won 184 votes in 193-member general assembly, while the minimum requirement was only 128 votes. Apart from India, Ireland, Mexico and Norway also won the UNSC posts.

India has served seven times earlier as non-permanent member of the UNSC since 1950. “We have received overwhelming support and we are deeply humbled by the tremendous confidence that the member states reposed in India,” TS Tirumurti, the Indian permanent representative to the UN, said in a message. The election was held at the UN headquarters here as it opened for the first time since March 15 due to Covid-19 outbreak.

The UNSC has 15 members, including five permanent members — the United States, the United Kingdom, France, Russia and China. The 10 other members are non-permanent and half of them are elected every year, each for a two-year term, starting January 1. –Agencies, IHN-NN

INDIA HERE AND NOW www.indiahereandnow.com email:indianow999@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s