LS POLLS: PM Modi files noms in Varanasi for 2nd term; NDA leaders present in strength urge PM on

VARANASI: Prime Minister Narendra Modi filed his nomination papers in a re-run  for the Varanasi Lok Sabha seat Friday, after a huge show of mass frenzy Thursday and amid a rallying of NDA forces in the form of its leaders here to urge the PM on.

Present were, among others, the UP chief minister Yogi Adityanath who received the PM on his arrival, Akali Dal leader Parkash Singh Badal, Bihar chief minister Nitish Kumar, Shiv Sena leader Uddhav Thackeray, AIADMK leader O Pannerselvam, Union ministers Rajnath Singh, Sushma Swaraj, BJP chief Amit Shah, LJP leader Ram Vilas Paswan etc.

Addressing the media after filing the nomination papers, PM Modi said that for the first time in the country, there now was a “pro-incumbency wave” across the country — unlike the usual “anti-incumbency” wave. 

The PM filed his nomination at the Divisional Commissioner’s office. The last time he filed the nominations was in 2014 in the same constituency. His nearest rival then was AAP leader Arvind Kejriwal, who gathered two lakh votes, while the third in line was the Congress nominee who got 75,000 voters. 
Among others, Varanasi has strong Muslim and Brahmin voter bases. IHN-NN


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s