LS POLLS: PM Modi again from Varanasi, Amit Shah to fight from Gandhinagar; BJP list of 184 out

NEW DELHI: The BJP on Thursday announced the names of 184 candidates spread over 2o states in its first list of party nominees for the April-May Lok Sabha polls. Prime Minister Narendra Modi will re-enter the fray from Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh, and party national president Amit Shah will stand for polls in Gandhinagar, Gujarat state capital, which was held by veteran leader LK Advani in the past. 

LK Advani and another senior leader Murli Mamohan Joshi do not figure in the first BJP list announced by party senior hand JP Nadda here this evening. 

Home minister Rajnath Singh will be fighting the polls from Lucknow, the UP state capital, while Roads and Highways minister Nitin Gadkari will re-enter the fray in his home turf, Nagpur. Union minister for textiles, Smriti Irani will fight the polls from Amethi, the seat held by Congress president Rahul Gandhi. Irani had lost to Gandhi in the 2014 polls from Amethi, a seat held by the Nehru family for many years.

However, the names of Union minister Maneka Gandhi and her son Varun Gandhi are missing in the first list. 

BJP leader Sakshi Maharaj will enter the fray in Unnao, in Uttar Pradesh  while Union minister VK Singh will contest the polls from Ghaziabad. 

Former Mizoram Governor Kummanam Rajasekharan will enter the fray in Thiruvananthapuram against Shashi Tharoor of the Congress, while Union minister Pon Radhakrishnan will re-enter the fray in Kanyakumari. Union minister Alphons Kannanthanam will fight the polls from Ernakulam.

Union miniser Arujun Ram Meghwal will fight the election from Bikaner, DV Sadananda Gowda from Bengaluru North, Poonam Mahajan from North Central Mumbai, Shobha Karandlaje from Chimagalur in Karnataka, Union minister Anantkumar Hegde from Uttar Kannada, Jitendra Singh from Udhampur in Jammu and Kashmir, Kiren Rijiju from Arunachal West, Union ministers Arjun Ram Meghwal will contest from Bikaner. Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore from Jaipur Rural; Gajendra Singh Shekhawat from Jodhpur, Rajasthan; Baijayant Jay Panda from Kendrapara in Odisha.

Union minister Mahesh Sharma will be fielded from Gautam Budh Nagar.

Actress turned MP, Hema Malini will fight the polls from Mathura. Locket Chatterjee will enter the fray in Hooghly, West Bengal, while sitting MP Babul Supriyo will be fielded from Asansol, WB.

In Maharashtra, Union ministers Subhash ramrao Bhamre will fight the polls from Dhule and Hansraj Ahir from Chandrapur. State party president Raosaheb Patil Danve will enter the fray from Jalna, while Pritam Munde, daughter of deceased Gopinath Munde, will contest the polls from Beed. 

Of the 184 names, 28 are from Uttar Pradesh, 28 from West Bengal, 21 from Karnataka, 16 from Maharashtra, 16 from Rajasthan, 13 from Kerala, 10 from Odisha, 10 from Telangana, eight from Assam, five from Tamil Nadu, five from Uttarakhand, two from Manipur, two from Arunachal, five each from Chhattisgarh and Jammu Kashmir, two from Andhra Pradesh, one each from Mizoram, Sikkim, Tripura, Andaman and Nicobar, and Dadra Nagar Haveli. -IHN-NN

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s