LS POLLS: Lok Sabha poll dates announced; first phase voting on April 11; seven phases; counting and results on May 23


NEW DELHI: The Lok Saha polls will be held in seven phases, and the voting in the first phase will be on April 11.The last day of nominations for the first phase will be March 25. Countings and results will be on May 23. Polling will end on May 19. The  announcement was made by chief election commissioner of  India, Sunil Arora. The current term of the Lok Sabha, the lower house of Parliament, ends on June 3.

Assembly polls too will be held for states of Sikkim, Arunachal Pradesh, Odisha and Andhra Pradesh. The code of conduct for polls will be in place with immediate effect from today.

The phase one voting will be on April 11, phase two on April18, phase three on April 23 and phase four on April 29, fifth phase on May 6, sixth phase on May 12 and the seventh and last phase on May 19,

The LS polls would be held for 543 seats through about 10lakh polling stations nationwide, involving an electorate of nearly 90crore. The new voters number 8.43crore, or about 10 per cent of the total voters. About 1.5crore of the total electorate are in the 18–19 age-group

Two-phase polls for Karnataka. In Jammu and Kashmir, LS polls would be held for Anantnag seat in three phases. IHN-NN

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s